Français / English

Nowhere(inside) - 2013
17'44, loop
Room installation, black molton, two screens of water, four loudspeakers.
Wood, fans, humidifiers, tubes. Size of the screens : 72 cm (L) 138 cm (H).

Exhibition views, raumLABOR, Braunschweig, DEU.
_________________________________

Show description | Click

Nowhere(inside) is an installation composed of video surveillance footage projected on two screens made of water. The video images appear as a light sculpture and float like an apparition into the space. The sound is a montage of different fragments of female voices from suspens movies.

While watching the video surveillance screens at my local swimming pool complex, I was amazed by the material quality of these images, by the beauty of these night landscapes, by the strangeness of the frame's composition. Last summer, I heard from the sport club manager that some people had broken into the pool overnight. The monitoring system sounded the alarm, but nothing was found on the videotapes.

The narrator of my story is female. While playing with the video monitors, she stands between the sofa and the kitchen table, the bus stop and the pavement, the neighbour's garden and her own, and she frightens herself, searching for her imaginary killer. This idea of the killer as a mental projection of the woman character defines the shape of the installation itself. Nowhere(inside) teeter in between presence and absence, fantasy and reality. It taps into the most primal fears of the spectator, those where blind, into the darkness, he has no other choice, but to listen.

Click on picture to scroll


2013 - DER GEIST IM VAKUUM, group show, curator Hubertus von Amelunxen, Braunschweig, DE.

Français / English

Nowhere(inside) - 2013
17'44, boucle
Installation, molton noir, deux écrans d'eau, quatre enceintes.
Bois, ventilateurs, brumisateurs, tubes. Taille des écran : 72 cm (L) 138 cm (H).

Vues d'exposition, raumLABOR, Braunschweig, DE.
_________________________________

Description | Cliquez

Nowhere(inside) est une installation composée d'images de vidéo surveillance projetées sur deux écrans de brume d'eau. Les images vidéo apparaissent comme une sculpture de lumière et flottent telle une apparition dans l'espace. La bande sonore est un collage de voix de femme tirées de multiples films à suspens.

En regardant les écrans de video surveillance de mon club de sport régional, j'ai été surprise par leur qualité plastique, par la beauté des paysages de nuit, par l'étrangeté des cadrages. L'été dernier, j'appris par la gérante du club que des individus c'étaient introduits de nuit dans les bâtiments. Le système de surveillance avait bien donné l'alarme, mais rien n'a été trouvé sur les bandes vidéos.

Le narrateur de mon histoire est une femme. Entre le canapé et le téléphone, entre le trottoir et l'arrêt de bus, entre le jardin du voisin et le sien, elle manipule le système de video surveillance, elle joue à se faire peur, elle cherche son tueur imaginaire. L'idée du tueur comme projection mentale de la femme definit la forme de l'installation. Nowhere(inside) oscille entre présence et absence, fantasme et réalité. Elle révèle les peurs les plus primaires du spectateur, celles où, aveugle, plongé dans le noir, il n'a plus d'autres choix que celui d'écouter.

Cliquez sur l'image pour faire défiler


2013 - DER GEIST IM VAKUUM, exposition collective, curator Hubertus von Amelunxen, Braunschweig, DE.